Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

Driver Education Information and Classroom Policies

Drivers education

STMA Driver Education classes are held throughout the year:

Summer (4 classes), Fall, Winter, and Spring

STMA Driver Education Information and Classroom Policies:

Driver Education class is held at St. Michael-Albertville High School in classroom 1685 (Enter Door C). Students must be promptly picked up at completion of the class by Door “C” at STMA High School.

No one is allowed to miss the 1st day of class without prior approval.

1) PERFECT ATTENDANCE IS EXPECTED!  If a student misses a class, he/she must have PRIOR APPROVAL from the instructor. If a class is missed, a make-up class is required. Refer to your class schedule for the make-up session. The class is scheduled for 30 hours of classroom  instruction, as mandated by The State of Minnesota. Students must attend all 30 classroom hours in order to pass the class and move forward with obtaining a driver license.

2) The instructor takes attendance daily.  

3) Students are issued a Drive Right hardcover book, workbook, and other materials on the first day of class. All materials including the Minnesota Driver's Manual should be brought to every class. The hardcover book must be turned into the instructor on the last day of class in order to move forward with obtaining their driver's license. Families are responsible for any lost or damaged books.

Minnesota Driver's Manual:
Students must download on a smart device or purchase the Minnesota Driver's Manual, it is used in class on a daily basis. 
Download a free copy: Use the following link:
Purchase a copy: Stillwater Printing 

Image of Minnesota Driver

4) Students who are 15 years of age or older during the class will receive their Blue Card on the last day of class. The Blue Card allows students to take the permit test. Students that turn 15 years of age after the completion of the class will pick up their Blue Card on or after their 15th birthday at the Community Education Office.

5) If a Parent/Student Meeting is scheduled during the Driver Education class, refer to the class schedule for date and time.

IMMEDIATELY after students pass the Knowledge (Permit) Test, email Connie Peters, Behind the Wheel Scheduler, at, to schedule Behind the Wheel hours.

  • State Law for students under 18 years of age must be in attendance for 30 hours of classroom instruction.
  • Because there is only one 3 hour make-up session, students needing more than three hours of make-up time will be WITHDRAWN and must REPEAT ALL 30 hours of classroom instruction. Additional fees may apply.  
  • If you and your student attend the Parent/Student Meeting, your student will complete 40 logged hours of driving time and a "Supplemental Parental Course Certificate of Completion" (Certificate of Completion) will be issued signifying your attendance at the meeting.
    NOTE: The Certificate of Completion is held at the Community Education Office until students complete all of their behind the wheel training. Upon completion, students will come to the Community Education Office (bring Minnesota Permit), to pick up their White Card and Certificate of Completion.
  • If you choose not to attend the meeting, your student will need to complete 50 logged hours of driving.  

    Community Education Office: 60 Central Ave. W, St. Michael, MN 55376
    Any questions about Driver Education, please phone: 763-497-6550